Collage

We produced a digital collage in the light of the given case study list and themes (phrases) set that which were given. We researched and analyzed thoroughly in each case study and we do not have to use the findings of all the research in our collages. We chose the two phrases randomly. And as a result of our interpretations on the phrases, we produced  our collage. Here is the list of the houses which were given;

Le Corbusier, Villa Curutchet / Argentina, 1949
Friedrick Kiesler, Endless House / Unbuild, 1950
MVRDV, Balancing Barn / Suffolk, United Kingdom, 2010
Shigeru Ban, Wall-less House / Japan, 1997
Serhat Akbay, Bağevi, İzmir, 2000
Peter Eisenman, House, 1968
Ahmet Alataş, ipera 25, İstanbul, 2011
Christian Kerez, House with a Missing Column / Zürich, 2014
Smiljan Radic, House for the Poem of the Right Angle / Chile, 2005

My Phrases: Narrow Explosion and Unfolded Joints

When I chose my phrase of narrow explosion, I was surprised because how it can be possible. It is explosion but it should be narrow. I have thought too much on this issue and I tried to accociate this phrase with my researches. According to my analyzings, most of the houses are related the lighting system except “House for the Poem of Right Angle.” I want to explain it by comparing two houses. For instance, Wall-less House, there is almost any walls in there as we can understand in its name. However, the House for the Poem of the Right Angle, there is vast contrast in light levels throughout with some areas seemingly devoid of windows. In addition to this, every house are build based on light condition but I want to associate this with my phrase because when I think the meaning of explosion, I interpreted it with light. In my collage, there is walls which was covered with dark colours which is devoid of windows. So, there is only circular parts for light entry. When light is coming to inside there will be reflections so that the dark and narrow area is enlightenment. Additionally, I associated the phrase of unfolded joints in my collage as light and dark.

collage

2 thoughts on “Collage

  1. Zack 3 March 2017 / 10:48

    Although I didn’t understand everything but I liked the idea of wall-less houses…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment